Belfry Bulletin

Search Our Site

Article Index

Hon. Sec: A.R. Thomas, Westhaven School, Uphill, Weston s Mare, Somerset.
Hon. Editor: - S.J. Collins, Homeleigh, Bishop Sutton, Bristol



The ninth of May has come and gone, and our new Belfry has been officially opened in reasonable B.E.C. fashion, for which event thanks are particularly due to the organisers, Pete and Joyce Franklin.

On Monday, the 15th of September last, the club was faced with the destruction of the Belfry and the necessity of finding a sum in excess of £3,000 very rapidly.  The alternatives would have been to abandon a Mendip headquarters for some time, or to put up some new temporary building, and thus push the problem of getting the club properly established on Mendip back for a long while.

By the ninth of May, two hundred and thirty six days after the fire, the club formally took possession of its new hut, and the formidable sum of money has almost been raised.  We can now actually pay every penny for the new Belfry, although this still leaves us with some debts and very little money for running the club over the rest of this year.

It would not be fair to single out individuals for the part which they have played in making this near miracle take place.  At its first meeting, the Committee agreed that it must be collectively responsible for the success or failure of the putting up and financing of the new Belfry. An editorial vote of thanks for their success would surely not be out of place on this happy occasion.

Temporary Emigration

It is with regret that we must announce that an assignment to the U.S.A. –  the land of the wigwam and of places like Wisconsin – has taken our Committee Chairman, Dave Irwin – better known as the Wig  –  away from Mendip for

a while.  Even sadder is the fact that he will almost certainly not be able to attend the A.G.M. and dinner this year.  He has had to resign from the Committee, but hopes to be back with us as soon as his work permits – unless, of course, he is made president of the national Spelaeological Association of America!  Seriously, we wish him a good trip and a speedy return.


Committee Changes

Owing to Dave Irwin’s absence, Gordon Tilly has offered to take over the production of caving reports. Bryan Ellis has agreed to be responsible for their sale.  Alfie has been elected Chairman of the Committee.  Other committee posts will remain unchanged.  The committee is now, A. Thomas, Hon. Sec.; R. Bagshaw, Hon. Treas.; R. Wickens, Caving Sec.; P. Atwell, Climbing Sec.; P. Franklin, Hut Warden; J. Riley, Belfry Engineer; N. Petty, Tacklemaster; T. Hodgson, Assit. Hut Warden; A. Collins, Chairman & B.B. Editor.